Senior Night 2019

Since last season a lot has changed in my life. I was once just the boys coach at Ben Holt Academy, now I coach both the boys and girls team. I was once a full-time college student, now I have 3 units left at Sacramento State university before completing my Bachelors degree. It was a crazy 2018, but it has been worth its weight in responsibility and changes. So with that being said, let me talk about the Bobcat Basketball class of 2019. First up, our ladies…..

 

Lady Bobcats:

#11 Briana Valencia

Briana has really overcome a lot this season. From not playing a whole lot the prior season, to stepping into my system and being asked to perform at a higher level than in the past; any other player I’ve ever coached would have walked away from that challenge. It would have felt like too much for no guarantee of an actual reward. When she got injured in the middle of the season, during a practice none the less, I can only imagine what feelings and thoughts were running through her mind. It had to have felt at times that maybe this wouldn’t be worth it. Despite the obstacles she faced this season, Briana never strayed from her own or my expectations for herself. She pushed to become better and to grow as the season progressed. For Briana nothing was more important than being here with the team and playing her role no matter how big or small it would be on any given day.

Though she may appear to be quiet and kind she has quite the mean streak when provoked. She isn’t one to take anything from someone without giving it back to them in return. She is like the eye of a hurricane, calm in the middle, while causing destruction all around her (when she wants to). She always asks questions as well. Not like the out of context ones, but the ones that really dig into understanding system principles and dynamics. She always asks about things I haven’t taught her. “Hey coach, if this girl plays down here could I pin down instead of rolling?”. As a coach that is the dream right there — Okay, so maybe the dream is cutting down the nets at Golden 1 in front of a thousand screaming fans, doing interviews like Coach Pop and intentionally giving one word answers. The point is, as a coach it’s easy to coach up players that want to absorb as much information that they can. No one on this Lady Bobcats squad wanted to learn more about the game and our system than Briana this season. Your passion for learning, for your teammates, and your competitive spirit are what I will miss most about you. But they are also the things that will take you great places in your life as they are qualities that lead to success. You didn’t make it onto the roster by being a senior, you made the team because you made everyone else around you better with your work ethic. As I told you all in film session “I love you all like my family, because you now are my family.” . This includes you. Thank you for trusting me with your senior year of Basketball, and whatever else you need from me in the future don’t be afraid to ask!!!

 

#13 Magnoleah San

Mags! Sup!

She is easily the coolest cat on the roster *so much cringe*. She is another one who had to fight through numerous injuries throughout the season because she is a true wrecking ball. The girl doesn’t know any speed other than full speed. I’ve never in my life coached someone who only has one gear and that gear also happens to be Paul Walker and Tyrese Gibson. Every team has a player who has got the pulse of the team and knows how to motivate the girls around her. For us, that player is Mags. Whether it be giving the ladies that extra push in practice or games, or helping build up ladies who are having a rough day, Magnoleah is the glue that has held the pieces of this roster together. Her love and genuine support for every member on this roster has helped this team gel in a way that I didn’t think would happen as quickly as it did. It’s not something I asked of her, it wasn’t even something I thought could happen this year. I took over the team two months before season. My only concern was not screwing this up for the ladies who were going into their senior season. Mags not only trusted me with this last year of her playing career, but helped build a foundation that will carry this team forward for years to come!

But while she is passionate about basketball (I think?) her real talent is off the court. She has a knack for creating that I haven’t ever seen in someone her age. If you get a chance check out her portfolio. She has legitimately started her own business and is able to create amazing works of art just by snapping pictures. Truly incredible. Now you may be asking, “What in the world does this have to do with your team?” and to that I’d respond with CAN I FINISH?!”.

*Coach turns to reader* I swear people these days have no patience. *Returns to typing*.

Why this matters *quickly glances at impatient reader who couldn’t wait a few more sentences to find out why I brought up Magnoleah’s ability to capture moments in time and make them memorable* is because she has now helped create another new tradition for our seniors this year at Ben Holt. Hanging in our gym now are 9 banners for the 9 seniors in our program this year. Each senior will get to keep these banners at the end of the season and each banner photo was taken by none other than Mags (except her own  of course because she isn’t unplugged from the matrix). When I said she helped build a foundation I should have been more specific. She helped build a MUCH STURDIER foundation. Something that impacted the boy’s team as well as the girl’s team. I’m fortunate to have been able to not only coach you this year, but learn more about who you are. You have helped push our entire program forward to a place I didn’t ever think we could get. Though you will not be with us going forward in a physical presence, you will in spirit, mind, and in the rafters. We will be turning to you every time to help capture moments for our teams going forward and making them lasting memories for a lifetime! Thank you for all that you have done for us both on and off the court. I will definitely be reaching out to you to do more for us in the future!

 

#21 Jessica Oliveri

I wasn’t entirely sure where to start with Jessica in all honesty. I was going to ask her what I should talk about in reference to her, but then I remembered she, and I’m quoting her on this, doesn’t do well making those types of choices (notice the lack of quotations because I’m old and don’t remember exactly what was said). What that is supposed to even mean I’m still not quite sure, but it is a perfect synopsis of who Jessica is. She is supremely gifted as both a student and athlete, but there is a humbleness that surrounds her. Basketball isn’t her true sport, it is something she has picked up and enjoyed playing. At times I don’t believe she sees herself as a talented basketball player, but that wouldn’t be the truth. What Jessica lacks in offensive confidence she makes up for with speed, grit, and defensive intensity. She is one of three girls to have taken more than one charge on the team this season.

Like is the case for most the senior girls, I only wish I had more time to work with her. She is extremely coachable and amazing on defense. She understands rotations better than most and  isn’t someone I have to instruct more than once. I spend more time talking and hyping her up, more than I do actually having to coach her. In all honesty, I don’t think I’ve ever had to experience that as a coach. Jessica has provided me with a new challenge, getting her to believe in herself the same way I believe in her. Not that she has no confidence, but that she keeps it to herself at times and let’s uncertainty take away from all that she already can do. She 100% gets that from her sister. In all honesty I think her sister probably told her horror stories of mean old Coach Alex from back during her playing days. Maybe that is why she is so quiet around me….

Either way, Jessica thank you for everything you have brought to this team. From your hard work, defensive intensity, willingness to sacrifice your body, and positive attitude. You have helped shape the girls around you and provide us with a spark off the bench all season. You were the true 6th Woman this season and without you, none of what we accomplished would have happened. Please keep in touch after you graduate and I hope you are able to do everything in life that you want to do. Don’t settle for anything less than your own happiness and vision of greatness!

 

#20 Monique McNair

You and I have more in common than I think either one of us realized (until I sat down to write this, started thinking about it and was like, “WOW. We have a lot in common”). We both liked the idea of attending a historically black college. We both are nice, kind, and smart people who become bullies on the basketball court –we do differ here in that yours is due to your competitive nature and mine was just because I was kind of an A-hole in high school. We also both want to move away from this area to broaden our horizons and see what the world has to offer and what we can offer the world. I believe all these similarities –and many more I just have 5 other guys to still talk about and don’t want to write a novel on this season quite yet– is why it was so easy to transition into being your coach. It never truly felt forced or felt as though you didn’t trust me. In fact it felt like I was looking at a young lady and saw a part of myself in you. The part that wants to do more than just the status quo.

You are lively, energetic, and the leader this team needed this season. When Lizette graduated I think many of you wondered who was going to fill her shoes. I know you probably thought you were going to need to but were wondering if you could. I can’t know with certainty because I wasn’t your coach at that time, but once I came in there wasn’t a doubt in your mind what you needed to be for this team. That was something you did, not me. You set your mind on an idea and you executed  this vision within the confines of the system I placed before you. Never missing a step. What you, and this team, have accomplished this year I didn’t think was possible at the start. Not because you weren’t talented but because I place demands on you as a team, individuals, and athletes that sometimes feel like chains. You ladies took this structure and ran with it. It was almost as if you were set free and given purpose more than it looked like a weight weighing you down. It was incredible to be a part of, but it was more impressive to watch you all flourish; especially you. Your offensive confidence, aggressiveness on the boards, and your comprehension of the system was uncanny for someone in their first year. I anticipated you would struggle more with our schemes and concepts but you never did. Yes, you asked questions and were confused at times, but everyone is. Once you picked up on something you never lost sight of that detail again.

Thank you for trusting me with the team. You were nervous during conditioning about what playing for me was going to be like, but you trusted that I would do right by you and your teammates and I thank you for that. I know you are seeing all that the girls will be getting in the future in terms of equipment, uniforms, flair etc. Don’t ever forget none of it is possible without you and your senior class. All of you set the foundation for whatever comes for us down the line. We stand on your shoulders to achieve greatness. Monique, good luck at whatever college you decide to attend. Don’t ever be afraid to reach out if you need anything. I will miss you and even though our time as player and coach was short, you and this team have given me memories for a lifetime!

Resized_20190201_163039_1855

 

*Cracks fingers*

*Stretches out neck*

*Takes a deep breath*

Now for my gentlemen…….

Boys Bobcats:

#21 Adrian Her

What can I say about Adrian that Zack already hasn’t tried as a hair style. OH, I KNOW. You guys remember last season when…. what? Why is it not typing this story?! Seriously, what is wrong with my keyboard? Okay, so it looks as though my brain is not going to let me tell a very funny Adrian story. So, I guess I’ll have to start with some facts.

Adrian Facts:

  1. His last name is Her.
  2. He is a senior.
  3. He got his twitter handle atrain from the fact that his first name starts with an A and he practices and plays like a train that could fly off the rails at any time on account of him always ending up on the ground.
  4. His jokes aren’t very punny (see what I did there?). *Pats self on back*
  5. He is the unsung leader of this team.

Of all those “facts” there is only one I care about truly, the third one obviously. But if there was one that is a close second, it’s the last one. He is the unsung leader on this roster. He isn’t the guy leading us into battle each night, but he has the pulse of the team. He knows when guys are slipping, when to hype them up, when to refocus us, and keeps us on task in practices and in games. He has been the role model for all the underclassmen in terms of how to play your role on this team. He is the success story of this roster.

Two years ago we were getting hammered by everyone and Adrian, well, Adrian didn’t make the team. He could have very easily given up, gone home, wrote down some pun jokes, and stopped caring. But he didn’t. He took what I told him to heart and he got to work. He improved his ball handling and finishing around the basket, and became a better team defender. Every year his role has changed and improved since then. He is the model for the type of student-athlete I look for here at Ben Holt. One that never settles, one that is selfless, one that puts the program before himself.

I can’t express how fortunate I and this team are for having you. You are a constant reminder for me as to why I came back here; what type of person I get to coach at this school. You are wise beyond your years and will be a much better man than I was when you start college. I love you buddy. Thank you for being the leader this team deserved and thank you for being the role model for our future athletes to strive to become. I love you Adrian. This team loves you. This place will always be home for me because of guys like you.

#20 Joe Judge

We almost lost you. There was a time I was convinced I wouldn’t get the chance to write this post about you. I didn’t honestly know if we would get to have this season together. For as smart as you are, sometimes, you set yourself back in the most unique ways possible Joe. But that is who you are. You truly are one of a kind. At times this is your biggest strength and at other times it can be your biggest weakness. You are so determined to do things your way that you miss an easier path right in front of you. This is why I relate to you so much. I am the same, a trailblazer. I don’t take the path most traveled, but rather the least. I can only hope that in time you will learn, as I have, that sometimes it is better to take the path that is easiest in order to blaze a bigger trail later.

Joe is one of the more carefree and, how can I put this in a way that doesn’t sound bad, hm, um, well…… chill guys on the team? I don’t know if that works but it’s all I can come up with at the moment. By chill I mean he isn’t going to be the guy that ratchets up the intensity. He is our calming presence because that is his personality. Nothing really rattles him. He is typically very composed and extremely positive and happy. Even when things are going bad he somehow manages to pull a rabbit out of his behind to give us all hope again. You guys remember his and-one against Stockton at Stockton this year to cut the lead to three? Or how about that crazy catch and shoot mid-air three at Tokay that had a chance to go in. Joe is the light in the dark for this team. Much like an actual Judge, he is the steady hand that provides hope when times seem darkest.

Joe’s role with this team came about from him having a particular set of skills. Not like that okay. Jeez, why do you always go there? *coach shakes his head in disgust* These skills Joe posses allow him to wear almost any hat within the system; shooter, creator, slasher, on ball defender, ball hawk, rebounder, scrapper. Essentially you name it and Joe can do it.  This doesn’t just make him valuable, it makes it hard for him to be replaced. I always tell you guys every one of you can be replaced and it is true. But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t try to make yourself as valuable as possible. You have done that Joe. What you have developed into at this school and for this program is almost irreplaceable. You have pushed guys like Amrit, Ben, and Justin to new heights because of everything you bring to the table. Those three in particular haven’t been able to sit by and be one-dimensional because of all the things you can do on the court. Two years ago your style of play gave me literal anxiety attacks. Now, I feel as though something is wrong when you aren’t playing that way. You have found a way to blend your unique talents and risk-taking decision-making style and blend it into a fully fledged college-style offense that needs you to be fundamental. That is more impressive than anything to me. It also shows how great you are at adapting to things around you.

I hope in time you will grow to reach out to me more. I cannot wait for you to come back and talk to me about all the little lessons I’ve taught you that you didn’t even realize were lessons. I can’t wait for you to broaden your horizons and become the great man you are destined to become. I’m excited for the day where you find the success you are searching for. Don’t ever settle for anything less than your very best Joe. If you can do that, you will do far more than I ever will in my lifetime. Love you man!

#22 Mitchell Alexander

It has been quite the journey hasn’t it. To say that it has gone according to plan wouldn’t be at all accurate. It truly hasn’t. Some of that is on you and your teammates, some on me, and some on just sheer bad luck. You acknowledged before the season you could accept a smaller role this season because you weren’t as committed to basketball as you had been in the past and I told you then, I wasn’t going to accept that as an answer. No matter what happens in life Mitch it is never to late to change your fortunes. The great part about life is that it is yours. You have control over most of it. If you focus on what you can control, everything eventually works out. This is because you become a master at perfecting the little things that make a big difference later on. You have always been more of a big picture guy, you get that from Cam. Like most guys on the team, you look too far ahead, rather than at what is currently in front of you. Maybe I’m partially to blame for that.  I’m also not saying the future isn’t important because it is. It took us awhile to gel this season though because of that. You were all concerned with where you wanted to end up and forgot about the path that lay in front of you now.

Despite yours, and our struggles, we still find ourselves with the 2nd best record in school history, a playoff berth looming, and an opportunity to do something no other team has done; qualify for state. You are a big proponent of this. Your willingness to sacrifice offensively for teammates, defend the best player each and every game, and be the backbone of our defensive prowess is on a level only a few players at this school have ever done. On your own, you have had one of the best defensive seasons in school history. You have overachieved in every aspect of the game. We wouldn’t be where we are without your efforts, your passion, your drive, and your leadership. This is the first team I’ve coached that doesn’t have one true defined leader. You have all compartmentalized that responsibility. You own the defense, Zack the offense, Jabbar the intensity, Jason leads by example, Joe keeps the team calm, and Adrian keeps us focused on the present. But it truly starts with you. We are a defensive team and you are our defensive leader. Thank you for buying in to our system and my philosophy.

I know this is probably it for you as a basketball player, but I want you to know how honored I am to have been your coach. You care so much about this team and our success that you even challenged me mid-season when things were starting to spiral. I know that came from a place of care not a place of malice. That moment could have sent us spiraling downhill, but you all rallied instead. You taught me more this season than I taught you. I learned how to manage emotions in-game better and post game because of guys like you and Zack. I’ve grown to trust you all more in terms of your motives for why you act and behave a certain way, where in the past I would have just chalked it up to laziness or lack of care.

You have been a huge part of my life for what feels like almost a decade. I’ve known about you since you were in 6th grade and it’s almost hard to imagine that you are about to graduate and take the next step in life. Thank you for letting me be apart of your life the past 3 seasons. I will miss you and your St. Anne’s Panthers gear at practice. I will miss seeing your smile and hearing you say “Let’s goo” after I finish a pregame speech. But mostly I will miss your presence and your mentoring of the younger talent. You were the good cop to Zack’s bad cop. I love you Mitchell. That won’t ever change. Don’t lose sight of the good man you are and let that carry you forward to greatness!

#24 Jabbar Zaman

More than anyone on this team you and I have shared a lot with each other this season. It has truly been the highlight of this year for me. Your growth as a player these past 3 years has also been something to behold as well. Just a few years ago you were a liability on the floor. You couldn’t play more than a few minutes at a time without having a catastrophic collapse. Today you are a centerpiece on the roster. Your presence on the floor is that of our own personal hype man. You provide us with an edge that you didn’t have just a season ago. Not just that, but you are an unbelievable teammate. You never make anything about you but rather try to own up for things that you are not responsible for. You are the epitome of what it means to be selfless and this team is better because of all that you are willing to take on.

The same quality that makes you a valuable teammate is also the same quality that also holds you back individually. You are far harder on yourself than you need to be. You are far harder on yourself than I am at times. I have come along way in dealing with you. Earlier this year you worked me up so bad that I punted a basketball. You didn’t need that from me then and I haven’t been that coach since. That day I saw how much you put on yourself and it forever changed me. I wish I could take that day back because I want you to know that your growth during your time here at Ben Holt has been nothing short of incredible. I can’t tell you how many people would watch us play and tell me I was gonna need to do something about that #24 kid, he just looks lost. Every time I’d tell them in time he will get there. You don’t know, you aren’t with us everyday. Just a little more time. Former players saw what I did, untapped potential. Even now there is still so much more within you. I honestly feel like the Super Kami Guru to your Gohan. I know that if you keep working there will be someone else to help you unlock your full hidden potential. Yep, a DBZ and TFS reference. What up?

The point I’m trying to make is that I hope you pursue basketball. I know how much you love it and I know it makes you happy. It is your escape. I want you, like everyone I coach, to do what makes you the happiest. Don’t settle for mediocre, strive for more. When you fall short look at it as an opportunity to continue to grow, not as failure. You only fail when you stop trying. Don’t ever forget that night in the parking lot either. We must have talked for two hours until almost 11pm. Don’t forget that you matter that much to Megan and I. She sat there in the car while we talked and never uttered one complaint. When I got back to the car she looked at me and said “He obviously needed that”. I tried to apologize for taking so long and she smiled and said “Don’t be, it was important”. You are family, now and forever. You are a part of a brotherhood that you get to carry with you forever. You are in my heart and mind forever. I love you big guy. I hope you are able to do everything you want in your life. Try not to forget me when you make it big!

#1 Zack Liggins

Mr. Liggins. You and I could not be more opposite. As much as I try to find a way to relate to you in some sort of fashion the truth is we don’t have all that much in common personality wise. We have some similar life experiences, but our personalities couldn’t be any more different. The old saying opposites attract couldn’t be any truer than in our case because I am drawn to you as your coach despite us being two different people. I am constantly trying to find new ways to relate with you, learn from you, fit the offense better to you, push you, etc.  Unlike guys I have coached in the past I can’t push you the way I did other great players I’ve coached. Thus, I have had to adjust to get the most out of you and for that I am grateful. I am grateful for the man you are becoming and player you were for me. I always will be. Coaching isn’t fun when it’s easy, I learned that from Larry Brown. They used to say he was only truly happy when he was miserable; I think that describes me fairly well. But you have made coaching a challenge because you have provided me with the motivation to find new ways to reach you as a coach. It didn’t always work, but it reignited my fire and passion for coaching at the individual level.

Mavericks tend to do that. Much like in Top Gun you are the hot-shot pilot flying this well oiled aircraft with his own vision of how to fly it. I, on the other hand, am the old curmudgeon vet who can’t figure out why you wont just stick to the basics. At times your way is better and at times mine is. As the season has progressed we have both learned to blend what we offer into a new way of operating to better fit the team. Your only setback is that you don’t push yourself as hard as I believe you should. This doesn’t mean I’m right, it just means I think there is more within you than you are willing to acknowledge. You have struggled with your confidence this year which is crazy because you are the only player in school history to record 8 or more 3’s in 5 different games. You are easily one of the best pure shooters in school history and it isn’t even close. That is something that should give you loads of confidence. You are so much more than that, but your ability to shoot the ball is better than most any player I’ve ever coached.

I’m not sure what your future holds. I’m hoping it is basketball. You still have so much more you can develop, learn, and become on the court. I think you have the foundations to become a great player, but it is definitely time for you to move on to greener pastures. That is probably the first time I’ve ever said that as a coach about a player. I think you graduating and moving on to a new coach is probably going to be what is best for you as a player. It isn’t because we don’t work well, or that I dislike you or vice versa. It’s because you have so much potential it would be a disservice for you to only take in what I can teach you. You have so many other great aspects to your game that the more coaching you receive the more dynamic a player you can become. Some players need my structure to find success, you needed it for guidance. Now that you have had it you can branch out and develop everything else about the game you need to become the player you want.

I hope you keep playing Zack, I mean that. My only advice to you is to fully invest. Don’t sit around and wait for someone to take a chance on you, force their hand. Work harder than you ever have in your life and blow everyone out of the water. You have the potential to do just that if you can buckle down and stay disciplined. It will be hard and it will require you to break bad habits, but if you can do it you will reap the rewards. In 3 seasons you went from out of control underclassmen with a warped understanding of the game, to an offensive nightmare for opponents who can create, shoot, score, and defend at a moments notice. Thank you for buying in and sticking it out here with me at Ben Holt. I know at times it was stressful, but it is partially what has made you the great player you are today. I love you and hope you continue to pursue the sport we both love.

 

Oh and Zack one last thing…… Lebron kills player development.

BH 2019

This post won’t go up on senior night, but you will all have a hard copy of it tonight. I have details to clean up before I fully post it. But I want you all to know how special a year this was for me. I took over a girls squad two months before season not knowing how, if at all, I would be able to replicate success with them. All the while I was worried that I may lose the boys in the process of diverting my attention away from them. The opposite actually occurred. I am blessed to have been put in this situation. To be able to have coached all 9 of you, merge our two teams into a true basketball program, and grown as both a coach and a leader. To the senior ladies, thank you for entrusting me with your last season. To the boys, thank you for putting up with my demands for the past 3 years. To both teams, thank you for buying into the philosophy and process by which we strive to be better. I love you all. Tonight will be bitter-sweet because of how far we have come, not because you are leaving. Had we not improved and became the team we are now, it wouldn’t feel bittersweet, but rather like a relief.

To all the parents, and my dearest Megan, your support this year has been nothing short of incredible. None of this would have been possible without you believing in me or the kids. Thank you for taking all that you did off my plate planning senior night. Thank you for driving your kids and this team to and from games and practices. Most importantly, thank you for entrusting me with your child. I love them as much as you do and like you I just want what is best for them. Thank you for allowing me to do so!

Coach Chris….. you get your own separate post. So, I’ll keep this short. Thank you. I feel as though I’ve gained a lifelong friend in you this year more so than just an assistant.

To the class of 2019….. let’s go get this bread!!

Until next time Internet,

 

-Coach Alex

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment